top of page
  • Writer's pictureAriane Caron-Lacoste

Reality check


I am back into the knitting community after a very long pause. About 7 years have passed before I reopened my Instagram, checked my Ravelry messages, glanced at my Facebook page.

There is a reason why it took me so long. I knew - I KNEW - that last time, what I did was not good enough. Do not think I am sliding into a selfdeprecating speech. I took a long break because I knew I had to take a good, long, cold hard look at myself, at how I was working, designing, and writting my patterns. I knew it was not good enough. I knew it without even looking at comments on Ravelry. I was not in a good place.


Fast forward 7 years. Lots happened, and I learned about myself SO MUCH. I also learned that, well my dear Ariane, you need to own what you did. It is, so to speak, an easy thought to have. But you need a strong sense of self to really go throught with it.

I am now strong enough. So, I went to Ravelry. I opened project pages of one of my designs. The comments were hard. « For a paid pattern, this is bad. » «This pattern was never fixed! » « Really, I shouldn't have bought this. » Ouch.

And they are right. Very, very right.


So, the first pattern to be redesigned, rewrittern, retested, reedited, layed out and proofread is my Villeray Scarf. It is in dire need of some love. And I pledge to do better, not only for knitters, but for myself. Expect some news on this front in the upcoming weeks.

***


I am about to launch my first knitting pattern in a long, long time, my Olmsted Socks. This pattern is very dear to me because it keeps some memories close, of which I am very fond. It has been sampled twice, tested, revised, tech edited, layed out, proof read. I want all the dots on the i's and the bars on the t's. I want it to be as perfect as it can be before I launch it into the world. Stay tuned!

Olmsted Socks


bottom of page