top of page
  • Writer's pictureAriane Caron-Lacoste

Zipped Crew Sweater, and my sewing mojo is back


The elusive little Maxence. What are you seeing through the looking glass? Lately, I have been stumbling upon reminders of time passed. I can't help but feel a twinge in my heart when I realize how much you have grown. My baby is now long gone, and in its place a spirited, curious and empathetic young boy. Your inner fire is exhausting. May it never dim!

No more front teeth and sprouting schoolboy, Fall weather and a fabric stash. In the optic of buying less-making more, I wipped up a Zipped Crew Sweather by Brindille and Twig this weekend. I don't plan on making many of these because :

1 - I hated sewing the zipper despite the fact I have sewn zippers many times;

2 - There were no instructions for finishing the zipper, and the one I improvised is not at all satisfaying (I will need some more brain juice to figure out a way to make it nice and tidy on the next one);

3 - Maxence is growing so fast I don't think it is worth making a bunch of them right now! I made the biggest size available and I don't think he'll be able to wear it all throught winter...

Sewing something in one sitting did have a very positive effect. Lately, work and life has been so intense that my knitting and sewing mojo were stuck in a ditch, somewhere, not wanting to be found.

« Maxence, smile! »

Confronted with cooler weather/no clothes that fit anymore/stash full of fabric/social conscience/wanting to get unstuck from this rut, I cutted the fabric, setted the sewing machines on the dining room table, rethreaded everything (overlocker rethreading, ugh), unfolded the ironing table, put on my glasses, told everybody to leave me the hell alone for a few hours and made something out of my two hands.

It. Felt. GREAT. And it still feels great.

And then, I realized I am almost done with two knitting WIPS. And that it was a beautiful day. And that I was sewing something for someone I love. And just like that - not just like that, it took a few hours of sewing -, my mojo was back.


Happy sewing, happy knitting, happy everything <3



bottom of page